Cleaning house physically, emotionally, and mentally.

Remembering 9/11

Today, September 11, 2011,  is the 10th anniversary of the tragic 9/11 attacks on the World Trade Center, the Pentagon, and the diverted attack on the Capitol. My thoughts include:

  • I don’t like the word “anniversary” as it makes me think happy thoughts, such as a 20th wedding anniversary.  Maybe I should refer to this as a 10-year memorial,
  • I was not even on the east coast during the attacks, and did not (thankfully) have any friends or family injured or worse.
  • I was at work when a friend said to check the news online to see what was happening. A TV was soon rolled out to a common area at work so everyone could watch.
  • Later that evening, I watched the news with a slack jaw, utterly amazed at the damage and lives lost.
  • Daughter’s soccer practice and other evening gatherings were all postponed as everyone was in shock.
  • I tried to keep daughter from watching the early news as even I found it scary. Later the worst pictures and videos were edited so you didn’t actually see people jumping from the buildings.
  • The fear of the unknown was overwhelming. How horrible it must have been for those in New York and DC. How distressing for those who were able to contact their loved ones and have a final word or two.
  • After a couple of weeks came the realization that life in America has drastically changed. We are vulnerable and hated by some. And they (whoever “they” may be) act on their hate.
  • Would it be safe to fly? Daughter and I had a planned vacation in San Diego and had already bought tickets. We did go, but must admit that armed guards in the San Diego airport was a bit unnerving.
  • Every big event or holiday brought forth the uncertainty of future attacks. I avoided large gatherings (such as trick-or-treating in a mall) because they could be a point of attack.
  • Would not send daughter to fly as an unaccompanied minor to visit her father at Xmas because we both (mother and father) agreed it might not be safe and would be too stressful for us (the parents).
  • I located a thought-provoking picture of firefighters at the World Trade Center, and had it framed for my brother-in-law. He is a firefighter and the picture was so emotional.
  • When I was growing up, the assassination of JFK was the defining moment I have never forgotten. Will 9/11 be that moment for my daughter’s generation?
  • I am forever in awe of those who sacrificed so much–including their lives–to help others on 9/11 and the days following. Thank you from the bottom on my heart!
  • I (We, meaning all of America) will never forget this day.

Comments on: "Remembering 9/11" (5)

  1. Well done, my friend. We all remember well what we were doing when we heard the news. Each story is so different.

  2. Great post Sandy. I liked the graphic too. I’d not seen it before.

  3. Thanks for sharing your thoughts. I wrote a series of etherees – remembering those innocents on the ground, those on the planes, those who responded, and the rest of us. My heart is heavy for those who lost loved ones.

Leave a Reply

