Cleaning house physically, emotionally, and mentally.

Fickle Friday #5

Today is September 2, 2011 — or 9-2-11. I have a tendancy to notice simple patterns and like 9-2-11 because 9+2=11. Strange, but true!

Do you believe it is September? Wheat harvest is going on and summer is near the end. The weather did a little change and yesterday there was even fog when driving to work. Lows were down in the 40s F. and highs were only in the 70s F.  But I think Mother Nature was just teasing, because next week it will be in the 90s again.

Monday is Labor Day in the USA. That means no work! But it is also the day I have to drive Daughter back to college. I checked the weather forecast and it is supposed to be in the 90s F. ARG!!  Daughter can’t get the key to her room until noon and she has a 4:00 meeting. So we have less than 4 hours to  get checked in, move everything from the car to her room, and then grab her stuff that we put in storage. That might take 2 trips.

The worst part will be the heat. And then I have to drive home (about 3 hours) in Labor Day late afternoon traffic. That is making me anxious already. I will have to remember to take my Glee CDs to keep me engaged in sing-along during the boring drive home.

The Packing Process

Once I return home, it will be deja vu in her room.  In July, I had it all spotless. I’m hoping it will be mostly cleaned up when we pack up. She’s been sorting through her things and has actually packed some of her stuff already.  The cats are quite enjoying everything though; there are lots of nooks and crannies, bags, and suitcases to investigate.

After daughter is back at school, I will hopefully get back into finishing the house cleaning chores. And just when I get that done, it will be time to back up and store the patio furniture.

OMG – I’m watching Man, Woman, Wild on the Discovery Channel. It’s a show about a survival expert and his wife who simulate survival situations. Right now they are in a small boat adrift in the Bermuda Triangle. They have been there for 3 days, with minimal water and only a tiny fish or two they caught. And let’s not forget there are sharks bumping against their boat. Mike (the hubby) is suffering from heat exhaustion and dehydration. So he tells Ruth (his wife) to give him an enema to hydrate him. Now that’s love!  And successful love, because he got better and they were rescued.

I’m thinking that I will stay out of the Bermuda Triangle. And if I get too hot on Monday while moving Daughter into her college room, I hope no one sneaks up on me and gives me an enema.

Comments on: "Fickle Friday #5" (10)

  1. I have 3 bedrooms that look similar to the one above. I’m bringing in the XL black trash bags now that my darlings are back to school. I love tossing the crap…it’s invigorating! 😉

    • I hear ya! I’m exciting about cleaning up daughter’s room (again) as I too love the tossing. My mom calls it “pitch and woo” because when you pitch it, you yell “woo!”

  2. That’s the way my sewing room is looking as I declutter. Will take a couple of weeks, I think.
    Love the Glee music. I made a playlist off online videos, just like I used to make music cassettes from the radio when I was a kid. Here’s my list.

    Name
    Glee Cast- Teenage Dream (HQ FULL STUDIO) w_ LYRICS
    Hello Goodbye (Glee Cast Version)
    Just The Way You Are { Full Song HQ.}
    Loser Like Me (Glee Cast Original)
    Lucky (Glee Cast Version)
    Me Against the Music (Glee Cast Version)
    River Deep. Mountain High (Glee Cast Version)
    Somebody to Love (Glee Season 2- Full Version)
    Stronger (Glee Cast Version)
    GLEE – ‘Teenage Dream’
    Glee – Take Me or Leave Me (Full Studio Version)
    Glee 2×14 ‘Blame It On The Alcohol’
    Glee Cast – Afternoon Delight
    Glee Cast – Hello Goodbye
    Glee Cast – Kiss (Feat. Gwyneth Paltrow) (FULL HQ STUDIO)
    Glee Cast – P.Y.T (Pretty Young Thing) (FULL HQ STUDIO)
    Don’t Stop Believing – The X Factor Live Semi-Final Results
    Do You Wanna Touch Me. (Oh Yeah)
    Empire State of Mind (Glee Cast Version)
    Faithfully (Glee Cast Version)
    Firework (Glee Cast Version feat. Dot Marie Jones)
    GLEE – ‘Forget You’ Full Performance feat. Gwyneth Paltrow!
    Glee Cast – Don’t You Want Me
    Do You Wanna Touch Me [Glee Cast Version]
    Kiss [Glee Cast Version] [Volume 5 – 2011] [HD]
    Landslide (Glee Cast Version) feat. Gwyneth Paltrow
    Damn It. Janet (Glee Cast Version)
    Fat Bottomed Girls [Glee Cast Version]
    friday studio glee
    Friday TV Glee

    • YEAH! Gotta luv Glee songs. A couple of my favs are on your list too:
      Empire State of Mind
      Firework
      River Deep, Mountain High
      Teenage Dream

      I’m looking forward to a Glee fest driving back home!

  3. Since when is an enema hydrating?

    • According to the show, the enema will provide hydration because the intestines will absorb the moisture. See, I paid attention! Think I’d rather have an IV.

  4. 3 things.

    I love the color of wheat before it is harvested. I always wanted hair exactly that color (I got close a couple of times before I gave up).

    I would love temps of 70 and if it hit 40 at night I would make a big pot of chili, throw on a sweatshirt and do a big happy dance.

    Anyone who puts themselves in that much danger deserves to have an enema, and if it were my husband, I might not be too gentle in delivering it.

    Enjoy your weekend, if you can.

    • I hear ya about the temps. One of the reasons I luv the Pacific Northwest is the nip in the air in the fall. However, I just read that we are expecting 97 on Thursday. Oh well.

  5. Hey, how’d you get a picture of my son’s room?

    Happy travels back to school and stay cool!

Leave a Reply

