Cleaning house physically, emotionally, and mentally.

So done with this kitty roca!!

Stop right now with those “you’ve got to be kidding” comments! You certainly will have to do better than that if you want to outdo Daughter’s comment and look of disdain (the “like how insane are you mom?” look) when I said I was going to train the cats to use the toilet instead of a litter box. If you have or know a young adult, you also know that look, don’t ya?

Sunni complaining about the new plan

I am so tired of the damn litter box and all that it entails (really bad pun). Right now the potty is in the laundry room downstairs.  Works OK, but sometimes I don’t go downstairs for a few days. Goodness knows I don’t remember to clean the stink hole if I don’t see or smell it. So with two cats, three days is absolute max without cleaning. I have tried the automatic ones, which actually work well up to a point. And then I tried just a dish pan to hold the litter. This worked very well until Sunni joined the clan; she has severe litter throwing issues. Then I got a large covered litter box. By far the best as it contains Sunni’s litter scattering tendencies.

One of my big issues is the weight of the boxes/bags of kitty litter. I can no longer cart a 40-50 pound bucket/box/bag out of the car, up the stairs into the house, and then down the stairs to the litter box. Hate straining my back on that; would so rather strain my back hauling 50 pounds of chocolate!

A couple of weeks ago, I was flipping through the TV channels and came across Shark Tank. One of their guests was a lady looking for investors for CitiKitty, her cat toilet training kit. I was intrigued and watched the segment. And then of all things, I went to Amazon and purchased one. Also got some flushable litter which came today. So now the experiment begins!  Wait right there — this is not an experiment, this is a process to improve my life and my cats’ lives. So let’s be positive!!

Step 1.  Move the litter box into the bathroom, next to the toilet.  DONE.   I introduced the cats to the new location and they both got down with the litter box. Seemed to go easy as I have not seen any evidence of accidents.

That’s as far as I am today. Tomorrow, I’m going to start using the new flushable litter and get them familiar with that before the real fun starts.

Doesn’t this whole ordeal make you wonder what direction my life is going? The thrill for the next several weeks will be monitoring the cats and training them to adhere to my idea of hygienic body waste elimination. I will certainly feel better about having a toilet trained cat reach out and touch my face with a little paw that is not been walking through poop and such.

Comments on: "Mission Possible? Toilet Training the Cats" (2)

  1. May The Force be with you…

  2. […] mentioned in an earlier post, I am attempting to toilet train my […]

Leave a Reply

