Cleaning house physically, emotionally, and mentally.

Weekend Plans

It’s the Friday of Memorial Day weekend. Here are my plans:

  • Finish planting flowers outside
  • Plant flowers at my moms (it’s her Mother’s Day present)
  • Finish decluttering the kitchen
  • Put away Alia’s (daughter) stuff from college
  • Get caught up on laundry
  • Vacuum
  • Clean bathroom
  • Bring out the lawn furniture
  • RELAX

Geez – now that I have written my tasks down, they seem overwhelming. But I have already started the laundry and should get a load or two done tonight.  And I have three days to do everything! Check back over the weekend to see how I”m doing. Wish me luck! Thankfully my sciatica is barely there today. Hoping it will stay away for the weekend as there is a lot of physical stuff to do (planting, furniture, etc.).

So now the rest of the news. I finally sort of connected with a long lost friend in the Joplin area. She answered my Facebook friend request but didn’t provide any info as to whether she and family are OK. Thus I will assume they are until I hear otherwise.

I briefly texted with my daughter today. She’s off on a Saturday/Sunday trip with a bunch of college buddies. Heavy sigh — just another holiday notch in the belt where she’s not home and we are not doing something together. Another heavy sigh.

The weather here is crap! We have had no spring at all. it has been raining, raining, and raining and chilly. Now it’s not the chilly weather, because I like the coolness. But the constant rain is putting a damper on things (ha-pun intended). The cool thing (yup, another pun) is that I have turned the heat off and have not turned on the air conditioning yet. Definately late in the year for AC. And I have not turned on my sprinklers yet either.

Since I don’t have work tomorrow, I plan to sleep in. What I will really do is read late into the night. Then wake up early (about 6:00 a.m.), read a bit more, fall asleep, wake up and read, then sleep again. Sometimes I will do this all day and not even get out of bed at all! But not tomorrow. I vow to be up and working on tasks by 10:00 a.m. Oh and let’s not forget that sleeping in seems to be a quality cat-time session, at least that’s what MeiMei and Sunni think.

I’m off to finish up with today’s laundry and plan to go to bed early so I can read. “Crunch Time” is a fun read and I’ve been a Diane Mott Davidson fan for years. When I finish it (will be done this weekend), I’ll expound on the books.

Enjoy the long weekend and stay safe.

Comments on: "Weekend Plans" (2)

  1. I hear ya! Priority 1 is always rest and renewal, but that is how I got in this situation to begin with. So I am seriously trying to do something.
    I really like your comment : “… not “empty nest,” but consider “watching her spread her wings” and “giving myself the room to explore me again.”
    It has always been about the kid; especially as a single parent. I need to explore my feelings about this. Maybe a blog post 😉

  2. OK, good start. Nice plans, but don’t hold yourself too tightly to these goals. This is the list of things that “would be nice to get done.” If it doesn’t happen, so be it.
    What’s your priority number 1? Rest and renewal. Not couchpotato slug, but taking the time to really do some nothing.
    Work on the projects, keeping in mind what you love about having them done.
    The flowers you plant for yourself are every bit as important as the ones for your mother. Take pleasure in both tasks, thinking about how you will enjoy walking by them and seeing their beauty.
    Also, not “empty nest,” but consider “watching her spread her wings” and “giving myself the room to explore me again.”

Leave a Reply

